Brandon Dillon's Blog

A place for discussion on all areas of life.

There are good people out there.

Posted by Brandon Dillon on September 15, 2013

Two weeks ago I was feeling better from all the sick people around me bombarding my immune system from the cold, flue, pneumonia that I was feeling up for one of my usual weekend rides along the cost from Oceanside CA down past Carlsbad. Friday night I noticed my tire off my bike was flat, from sitting in the house for a week, I thought that was odd but I went to this great bike shop in Oceanside called Omega Bikes http://www.omegabicycles.com/ (they are closed on Sundays for Church! how awesome is that! They list that on the open sign)

So I went in first thing Saturday morning at 10 am and got a new tube, I was up at 7 so I Was ready to go for a ride immediately,  So I parked at the free public parking at the Oceanside Pier (yes free parking at a beach!)  and got on the bike and started riding south. Well after about 7.5 miles and about 3 miles from anything but houses and open area along the coast highway I got a flat on the front tire I just got replaced. So I was like well it happens, lets get back and get it fixed. I wanted to chill on the beach and do some swimming in the ocean too that day.

So I thought it would be an awesome idea since I wear cycling shoes to take those off and just walk barefoot, cuz it wont be that far and I Can get it fixed in down town Carlsbad, ya that’s 3 miles away. So after a mile barefoot walking on cement I decided to put my cycling shoes on lol. Then after another mile my feet started to burn and hurt, the next mile I thought I was going to die. So I took the bike path down to the Carlsbad coaster train to see if I can get on the train to ride home but the next one was in 3 hours!

so I called a bike shop that I found on my Windows 8 phone that was like a mile away to see if they had pick up service and could do a tube for me, and they couldn’t even change a tube for me today let alone pick me up =(

So I walked from the Station up the road a block to the Surf Shack

I asked the guy behind the counter if he had a tube which he did for beach cruisers but not my road bike, so we filled up the tire to see if it would hold air at all so I Could ride the 3 more miles to my car but it wasn’t holding air. So this girl who was in the shop looking around who’s named I found out later to be Chrystal said.

“I’ll give you a ride back I live right by there.”

I declined at first, not sure why but she said it a few times so I accepted her offer. We went to put my bike in her Escape and I met her 4 year old daughter Dainica and her boy friend Kevin who;s family owns the Carlsbad Alkaline water artesian mineral well which was across the street from the surf shop

http://www.carlsbadalkalinewater.com

it was really amazing to meet some great people that helped me out in a big way, the next day my feet were blistered up good, had I walked another 3 miles I Can only imagine how bad they would have been. It took a few days of careful walking but by Thursday I was back to normal and rode the following weekend and saw Chrystal and Kevin running along the path I bike on.

And the water is great!

Carlsbad WellWP_20130831_002

Leave a comment